Keep the faith

When things go wrong, as they sometimes will,
When the road you’re trudging seems all uphill,
When the funds are low and the debts are high,
And you want to smile, but you have to sigh,
When care is pressing you down a bit —
Rest if you must, but don’t you quit.

Life is strange with it’s twists and turns,
As every one of us sometimes learns,
When many a fellow turns about
When he might have won had he stuck it out.
Don’t give up though the pace seems slow —
You may succeed with another blow.

Often the goal is nearer than
It seems to a fair and faltering man,
Often the struggler has given up
When he might have captured the victor’s cup,
And he learned too late when night came down,
How close he was to the golden crown.

Success is failure turned inside out —
The silver tint of the clouds of doubt.
And you never can tell how close you are,
It may be near when it seems so far,
So stick to the fight when you’re hardest hit, —
It’s when things seem worst that you mustn’t quit.
— Author unknown

I used to carry this poem around with me at all times in my wallet when I was a teenager, well into my college years.  I never really looked at it or read it, but I just knew I liked what it had to say.  Keep the faith and you will succeed.  But I can honestly say I don’t think I really understood that until just recently.  Sure, it was great in theory, and it also sounded good.  But, I honestly didn’t know what it really meant to not give up and keep the faith at all times – regardless of the circumstances.  I learned how to do that just recently.

I have what most people consider a very odd career.  In fact, there are a lot of people, probably the majority, who don’t believe that what I do is even possible.  I used to be afraid to tell people I talk with animals and we have regular conversations.  There are times I’m still not all that comfortable with it.  But, I had to keep the faith that what I do is real.  I had to stay true to who I am and know, without a shadow of a doubt, that talking with the animals is indeed possible – regardless of what others said.  I had to keep the faith even when some of my family laughed at me and just shrugged me off.   I trusted in the animals and what they were saying to me.

I am embarking on a new journey because of that trust in the animals.  And, trust me, it has not been easy.  For awhile I didn’t know what was going to happen and if I should even continue with opening this amazing space called The Healing Loft.  My colleagues and I had several discussions where our doubt came into play, but not for long.  It never ceased to amaze me that our belief really was unwavering.  Ok – 5 minutes here and there maybe, but not for much longer than that.  We never truly doubted The Healing Loft and what we had to offer.  Where our doubts came from was in the ‘how’ to get where we were going.  Had we given up because our first space didn’t work out, or because our opening date kept being pushed back, or because we were scared, we wouldn’t be seeing the things we are seeing today.  Don’t worry – The Healing Loft is alive and well.  We are opening doors by October 1st, 2010…..because we didn’t quit.  We kept the faith.  We believe in our visions so much we are unwilling to give up.  So, after 9 months of truly unwavering belief, we will be opening our doors to the community.  It took work and FAITH in the face of adversity to now have this amazing space in NE Minneapolis.  We kept the faith and now have 4,000 square feet of space to provide healing within the community, more than we even dreamed was possible!  We kept the faith and the universe provided us with what we asked for – and more!  What would have happened had we give up after 6 months?  Or given up after being threatened by our previous landlords?  Or given up because it just got too hard?  I don’t even want to think about that….

So, where do you doubt?  What is it that you want so badly but you doubt you can even have?  Do you try something for a week, a month, 6 months, but then give up because you haven’t seen the results of your faith?  As hard as it is sometimes – you must always keep the faith in yourself and in what you are doing.  You will see the results in bigger and more powerful ways if you continue to believe, beyond a shadow of a doubt, you will have what you want.  There is a higher power working for you in your favor – if you just believe.

Please feel free to share your story in how you kept the faith in your own life in the comment box below.

– Written by Kristen Scanlon (Animal Communicator/Certified BodyTalk Practitioner) and co-owner of          The Healing Loft, LLC.  You can reach her through email at healing@thehealingloftmpls.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

