Living in the Moment

How many of us have heard “Just let go!  You have to learn to live in the moment and it will get better.”?  This is a statement I’ve been hearing over and over again over the last several months from not only the people around me, but the animals I come into contact with as well.  Between the start of The Healing Loft, an illness in the family, and long awaited events to happen, it’s been a little difficult for me to ‘just live in the moment’.  I’m scurrying from here to there, worrying about how certain bills will get paid, and trying to get a million and one things done –  yesterday.  How can I live in the moment?  There’s too much to do!  Too much to worry about!  Too many phone calls to return!  Too many emails to sift through!  Too many….. *sigh*  So, now what?
As usual my animal friends come into my life to teach me.  They are so full of wisdom and advice I will, literally, become speechless at times.  In fact, just last night, my cat jumped into my lap and curled into my arm.  When I reached to do something else, with her in my arms, she reached out her paw so I would turn to look at her,  “Mom, pay attention to me.  I’m here and you’ve been gone all day.  Focus on what’s right in front of you – ME!”
I hemmed and hawed about how to approach this topic.  I wasn’t sure what direction to take.  Do I talk about the messages from the horses, the sloth, the cats, the dogs, the ants, the spider, the birds, the ducks?  Even the trees teach us about living in the moment!  Then it dawned on me that I needed to use them all.  Every animal and living being have their own message to give to us, but they all have one common message that we humans need to hear – live in the now.  Live in the moment.  The present is what is important.  Let tomorrow worry about itself.  Here is what some of them had to say:
Big Red (horse) “Just live in the moment.  Appreciate what you are doing at that time.  Do you think I like to be in the pasture all day long?  No!  Of course not!  But I enjoy every minute while I’m there.”
Al (horse) “You must trust you know what is best for you.  You must quiet yourself and BE in the moment.  Then you can truly get the answers for yourself.  People ask for others’ opinions when, really, they always have the answers they need.  You just need to look inside yourself and you’ll know exactly what you need to do.  But that only happens when you are truly in the moment.”
Sloth (at zoo) “People are always rushing from here to there with nowhere to really go.  They think they have to be so busy all the time.  Slow down!  What is really that important that you have to let life pass you by?  I may move slow, but I don’t miss anything either.  Enjoy the simple things and savor them.  Then you’ll truly see life the way it is meant to be.”
Brom (therapy horse) “Just let go!!  You know you need to do this.  Let things unfold as they will.  You can’t make something happen any faster than it is going to actually happen.  So take the time to slow down and be in the moment.  Then you will truly see amazing things happen – beyond your wildest dreams.  Stop.  Breathe.  What are you grateful for right now?”
Duck (in pond) – “Focus on what you’re doing right now.  Quit wondering when things will happen.  Envision what you want and then let it go.  It will happen.  You must trust.  By living in the moment (and being grateful for what you have now) you are allowing the future to unfold in the best possible way.”
Our animal friends understand how important it is to to just live in the moment.  They aren’t worrying about where their next meal is or if they’re going to have shelter tomorrow.  They know that right now is what’s important.  So, I have learned to ask myself “Do I have everything I need in this moment, today, to live my life?”  Yes.  My needs are met today.  My bills are paid today.  My family is alive today.  I am doing my very best today.  I am grateful and I am alive.  I am in the moment.
How are YOU going to start living in the moment TODAY?
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

